Skip directly to: Main page content
UC Davis Department of Philosophy

Faculty Changes

Philosophy Department

1240 Social Sciences and Humanities
University of California, Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616

Phone: (530) 752-0607

Fax: (530) 752-8964

Faculty in 2007

Faculty in 2007

The following is a list of changes in the UC Davis Philosophy Department since 1970, with the number of ladder-rank full-time equivalent positions (FTE) given in parentheses after the year.

History of Faculty Changes

1971-72 (10)
Hire of Michael Wedin
1976-77 (9)
Resignation of Mel Beal
1977-78 (10)
Hire of G. J. Mattey
1978-79 (9)
Retirement of Marjorie Grene
1980-81 (8)
Retirement of Arthur Child
1983-84 (9)
Hire of James Griesemer
1986-87 (8)
Death of Fred Berger
1988-89 (10)
Hire of Jean Hampton, Richard Healey, Michael Jubien; Retirement of Neal Gilbert
1989-90 (11.5)
Hire of David Copp, Richard Wollheim (Temporary), Michael Dietrich (50%)
1990-91 (11.5)
Hire of Paul Teller
1991-92 (9.5)
Resignation of Jean Hampton, Richard Healey; Retirement of Ronald Arbini
1992-93 (9.5)
Hire of Jeffrey King; Retirement of William Bossart
1993-94 (9)
Resignation of Michael Dietrich
1994-95 (8)
Hire of Philip Clark; Retirement of John Malcolm and Joel Friedman
1996-97 (8.5)
Hire of Gerald Dworkin (50%); Loss of funding for Richard Wollheim
1997-98 (8.5)
Hire of Robert Cummins; Resignation of Philip Clark
1998-99 (8.75)
Hire of Connie Rosati; Increase of Gerald Dworkin to 75%; Resignation of David Copp
2000-01 (10.75)
Hire of Victor Caston, George Wilson
2002-2003 (12.75)
Hire of Karen Neander, Pekka Väyrynen
2004-2005 (11.75)
Hire of Josh Parsons, Michael Glanzberg; Recall of Henry Allison (Temporary); Resignation of Jeffrey King; Retirement of Michael Jubien, Michael Wedin
2005-2006 (7.75)
Recall of Michael Wedin (Temporary); Resignation of Connie Rosati, Victor Caston; Retirement of Robert Cummins, George Wilson
2006-2007 (13.75)
Hire of Cody Gilmore, Brendan Jackson, Robert May, Roberta Millstein, Bernard Molyneux, Adam Sennet, Jan Szaif, Jonathan Vogel; Resignation of Karen Neander, Josh Parsons; Suspension of recall of Henry Allison
2007-2008 (11.5)
Retirement of Paul Teller; Resignation of Jonathan Vogel; Decrease of Gerald Dworkin to 50%; Recall of Henry Allison (Temporary)
2008-2009 (11.5)
Hire of Aldo Antonelli, Elaine Landry; Resignation of Pekka Väyrynen, Brendan Jackson; Suspension of recall of Henry Allison
2009-2010 (13.5)
Hire of David Copp, Marina Oshana
2011-2012 (12)
Retirement of Gerald Dworkin; Resignation of Michael Glanzberg; Suspension of recall of Michael Wedin